Skip links
2023 Headies Award Winners

FULL LIST: 2023 Headies Award Winners

On Sunday, September 3, 2023, the 16th Headies Award took place in Atlanta Georgia for the second consecutive year.

Since its inception in 2006, the Headies has played a prominent role in the documentation of the strides recorded in the Nigerian music industry through its award which has now become the biggest prize in Nigerian music.

On the night, Mavin star,  Rema was the biggest winner, going home with three gongs. His Nigerian music renaissance speech was also the highlight of the event.

Other big winners were Asake with two gongs including the coveted Next Rated Award; Burna Boy picked up the Afrobeat Single of the Year and the Best R&B Song.


Best Rap Single
Odumodublvck – “Declan Rice”

Best Vocal Performance
Wande Coal – “Kpe Paso”

Best Music Video
Director K – “Calm Down” (Remix)

Best Rap Album
Blaqbonez – Young Preacher

Lyricist on the Roll
Payper Corleone – “Fly talk alone”

Producer of the Year
Rexxie – Abracadaba Remix

Best Male Artiste

Rookie of the Year

Best Inspirational Single
Neon Adejo – “Eze Ebube”

Special Recognition
Sound Sultan

Afrobeats Single of the Year
Burna Boy – “Last Last”

Digital Artiste of the Year

Best Street Hop Artiste
Seyi Vibez

Next Rated

Album of the Year
Asake – “Mr Money with the vibe”

Song of the Year
Burna Boy – “Last Last”

Best Collaboration
Spyro ft Tiwa Savage – “Who is your guy remix”

African Artiste of the Year
Rema (Nigeria)

Best West African Artiste of the Year
Black Sherif (Ghana)

Best R&B Album
Chike – The Brother’s Keeper

Headies Viewers choice
Victony- “Soweto”

International Artiste of the Year
Selena Gomez

Best Recording of the Year
Victony & Tempoe – “Soweto”

Best Vocal Performance (Female)
Waje – “In Between”

Best North African Artiste of the Year
El Grande Toto – Morocco

Best East African Artiste of the Year
Diamond Platnumz

Best Central African Artiste of the Year
Libianca – Cameroon

Best Female Artiste
Ayra Starr

Hall of Fame
Youssou N’Dour

Songwriter of the Year
Simi Kosoko, Godsfavour Chidozie, Kosoko Adekunle, Marcel Akunwata – “Loyal” (Simi)

Best Alternate Album
BOJ – Gbagada Express

Best Southern African Artiste of the Year
Focalistic – South Africa

Best R&B Single
Burna Boy – “For My Hand”

Best Alternative Song
Wizard Chan – “Earth Song”

Leave a comment

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.